Thursday April 20, 2017
PETERBOROUGH captain Ulrich Ostergaard is hoping for a late birthday present tonight.

The ‘T Balfe Construction’ Panthers skipper turned 36 yesterday and would love to celebrate with an SGB Championship success at Sheffield (7.30pm).

Ostergaard has fond memories of Owlerton Stadium after capturing the Premier League Riders’ Championship at the South Yorkshire venue back in 2015.

It has also proved to be a happy hunting ground for Peterborough since they returned to the second tier of the sport with two wins and two draws from four visits.

Ostergaard said: “Winning the PLRC at Sheffield was one of the highlights of my career and it’s a track I always enjoy racing at.

“We’ve got a very good record at Sheffield and hopefully we can keep that going tonight.

“I’m pretty confident that the track will suit most of our boys and we’ll definitely go with the aim of picking up a win.

“If we can’t manage that, then we want to be able to come away with a point to keep our good start to the season going.”

Peterborough have tweaked their riding order to face the Tigers.

Skipper Ostergaard moves to number five, Paul Starke and Simon Lambert form a new middle-order partnership and the rider replacement facility, which covers for the absence of Kenneth Hansen through illness, is at number two.

Sheffield are spearheaded by Josh Grajczonek, who led a Somerset side also featuring current Peterborough men Starke and Bradley Wilson-Dean, to an honours double last season.

Lasse Bjerre, who guested for Panthers in their Easter Monday triumph against Ipswich, was another notable Sheffield signing during the winter.


SHEFFIELD: Josh Bates, Lasse Bjerre, Rob Branford, Josh Grajczonek, Kyle Howarth, Todd Kurtz, Jack Parkinson-Blackburn.

PETERBOROUGH ‘T BALFE CONSTRUCTION’ PANTHERS; Tom Bacon, Rider replacement for Kenneth Hansen, Jack Holder, Simon Lambert, Ulrich Ostergaard, Paul Starke, Bradley Wilson-Dean.

PICTURED: Ulrich Ostergaard after winning the Premier League Riders' Championship at Sheffield in 2015 (credit: Andy Garner)

Share This:   Facebook Twitter