Sunday April 02, 2017
TEAM boss Carl Johnson has told all seven Peterborough riders they need to bring their ‘A’ game to Scunthorpe today (Sunday).

The ‘T Balfe Construction’ Panthers travel to the Eddie Wright Raceway for their first SGB Championship away fixture of the new campaign (5.30pm).

And Johnson is bracing himself for a tough test in North Lincolnshire as Peterborough bid to follow up a 51-42 season-opening success against the Scorpions nine days ago.

Johnson said: “Scunthorpe pushed us hard at the East of England Showground last Friday and I think this is a meeting which could go either way.

“We’re two very similar teams in terms of having strength in depth and I’m sure that will lead to another close contest.

“Our away record in the past couple of seasons has been very pleasing and we’ll again look to pick up as many points as possible on the road.

“Opening the season with a home win was great for confidence and it would be great to be able to build on that.

"We never travel with anything other than the aim of picking up victory.”

Peterborough are at full-strength with Simon Lambert being declared fit after a spill in his own testimonial meeting last Sunday.

Lambert suffered muscle damage to an arm when taking a nasty tumble during the ‘Rambo Lambo’s Decennary’ at King’s Lynn.

Scunthorpe will be racing for the second time in 24 hours after going down 53-37 at Glasgow last night.

They make one change to their septet with reserve Josh Bailey ready for action after collar-bone surgery. He missed the reverse fixture at the East of England Showground last Friday.

It's also been a busy time for Peterborough captain Ulrich Ostergaard who has lined up in three individual events in as many days. The pick of his performances came at former club Redcar in the Julie Lewis Memorial on Thursday when finishing second.


SCUNTHORPE: Josh Auty, Josh Bailey, Ryan Douglas, Lewis Kerr, Michael Palm Toft, Fritz Wallner, Carl Wilkinson.

PETERBOROUGH 'T BALFE CONSTRUCTION' PANTHERS: Tom Bacon, Kenneth Hansen, Jack Holder, Simon Lambert, Ulrich Ostergaard, Paul Starke, Bradley Wilson-Dean.

Share This:   Facebook Twitter